top of page

Last Day::Check!

November 30.

19 days ago.

My last day of class before winter break.

Sure, I had a few days of grading finals, but then…


I sat. I slept. I laid around.


…and I can’t say that I’ve stopped!


I of course have ambitious goals for the break, and I’ve slowly started on them. I’m halfway through training to become a Google Certified Educator, and I plan to take the test this Thursday. I also have a list of books I want to read for fun, and above all, I’m deep into This is Us, a new-ish NBC show. I’m watching episode 8 via Hulu as I type. The episode titled “The Game Plan” had me crying so hard my husband ran into the room to make sure I was ok.


(In fact, I would have written this little update in about half the time if I hadn’t been wiping away tears from this episode, too.)


I’m thrilled to return to Young Harris in the spring. I'll be teaching the same class I taught this semester (freshman comp) along with part 2, Composition and Literature. I'm looking forward to both--I have a huge ideas on how to make them better, and as soon as I find the energy...motivation...pressure to get the ideas on paper, this semester will [should] be the best yet!


I’m still happily working for Cult of Pedagogy, too. The work I’m doing for CoP continuously inspires and motivates me to become a better teacher...even if I'm taking a bit of a break right now.


As *roll-your-eyes* as this is, I want to leave you with a quotation from This is Us. It’s helping me feel not so guilty about easing into tackling my winter break goals and instead:


enjoying time spent with my husband Christmas shopping,

napping with my 8-year-old puppy,

& grabbing lunch and walking around TJ Maxx with a very close friend.

“Catch the moments of your life; catch them while you’re young...and quick. Because sooner than you know it, you’ll be old and slow, and there will be no more of them to catch.”


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page