top of page

College Finals Can Be Fun (with supporting evidence)

Cupcakes, trips on public transportation, the death of Atticus Finch...

College finals can be fun.

I am a firm believer that "real learning is doing;" learning sticks when experiences are had.

That's exactly what fueled my literature final.

The stories we read this semester--To Kill a Mockingbird and Go Set a Watchman--are passionate, [still] relatable, inspiring, and relational. Writing yet another paper just didn’t make sense to me, so before reading on, please feel free to check out the actual assignment options, click around, and maybe even let me know what you’d add…

 

On Friday, April 29, one of two literature classes gathered for the last time. During our time together, we had a Lane Cake baked by a lacrosse player, a presentation inspired by Humans of New York, and a retelling of an inaugural trip on the Marta, complete with Anna and Hans from Frozen!

Here are a few projects that really stood out:

  • An original monologue spoken by Scout to Atticus’s grave

  • This theater major warned me beforehand because of how “personally invested [I am] in these characters.”

  • Cheesecake cupcakes topped with different candies to represent many different characters

  • Heavy on the symbolism and creativity!

  • Chocolate cupcakes with gray icing...filled with M&Ms

  • Colorblind vs. celebrating diversity...complete surprise filling!

  • A retelling of a trip to Monroeville, Harper Lee’s hometown

  • 6 hours away from the school!

On May 3, I traveled to campus for the very last time for my last literature final which went just as well as the first.

  • 3D model of Maycomb complete with birdhouses

  • I mean, come on.

  • A 10 minute documentary of three boys’ trip on Marta

  • I laughed, I cried...and I would link it here, but there are a few words already bleeped out. I mean, they're college students, right?

  • A scrapbook of a student’s trip to The Little White House

  • Where FDR lived and died--a mention of his inaugural speech in the chapter 1 of To Kill a Mockingbird

  • You know, the "nothing to fear but fear itself" bit.

Even though I’m pretty sure one set of “homemade” biscuits were bought from Chick fil A, and the model of Mockingbird’s Maycomb had “paved” streets, my students made me proud. Each one of these finals helped previous bad days feel not so crappy.

 

In just under 50 days, my husband and I will be residents in Mississippi once again. I have started my job search and am hopeful, but no matter how things turn out on that front, this final with my literature students was a wonderful way to leave the campus of Young Harris College!


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page